QUEENS, NY – Borough President Melinda Katz will swear in 63 newly appointed community board members and 276 reappointed during a ceremony to be held Monday, June 8th, at 6 p.m. in the New York Hall of Science, located at 47-01 111th Street in Flushing Meadows-Corona Park.

The 339 members were appointed by Borough President Katz to serve two-year terms on their respective community boards, which play an important advisory role in considering land use and zoning matters. Community boards also contribute to the dialogue about the city budget, municipal service delivery and many other matters that impact their communities.

Despite the important role community boards play in city government, community board members are not compensated for their service.

“It is wonderful to see that Queens has so many civic-minded residents who are willing to volunteer their time and effort to help make the diverse communities that make up ‘The World’s Borough’ better places to live, work and visit,” said Borough President KATZ.  “All of the Community Board members deserve our deepest thanks for their selfless service to our Borough and City.”

Eighty-nine individuals will also be honored in recognition of their many years of excellent service on their respective boards. They include Miriam Levenson, who will be recognized for 45 years of service on Community Board 4. Also being honored will be Joan Garippa of Community Board 11 and Seymour Finkelstein and Lloyd Hicks of Community Board 13, who are being honored for 35 years of service on their respective boards.

In addition, seven board members will be honored for 30 years of service, 19 will be honored for 25 years of service, seven will be honored for 20 years of service, 25 will be honored for 15 years of service and 27 will be honored for 10 years of service.

There are 14 community boards in Queens and a total of 59 citywide, with each board having up to 50 unsalaried members. All Queens community board members are appointed by Borough President, with half of her appointees being nominated by the City Councilmembers who represent the districts covered by the community boards the appointees will serve.

The new community board members who will be sworn in along with those being reappointed are:

Community Board 1 (Astoria, Old Astoria, Long Island City, Queensbridge, Ditmars, Ravenswood, Steinway, Garden Bay, Woodside): Katie Ellman, Vanessa Jones Hall, Melanie LaRocca, Dominic Stiller;

Community Board 2 (Maspeth, Sunnyside, Woodside, Long Island City): Czarinna Andres, Claudia Chan, Sally Frank, Benjamin Guttmann, Badrun N. Khan, Lakshmi Reddy, Beth Sexton, Mary V. Torres;

Community Board 3 (Jackson Heights, North Corona, East Elmhurst): Renetta English, Patricia A. Glunt, Larinda Hooks, Agha Muhammad Saleh, Camilo Zamora;

Community Board 4 (Elmhurst, Corona, Corona Heights): Marialena Giampino, Ashley Reed, Cristian Romero;

Community Board 5 (Ridgewood, Maspeth, Glendale, Middle Village, South Elmhurst): Tobias Sheppard Bloch, Karamjit Dhaliwal, Thomas C. Dowd, Sarah Feldman, Kathleen Knight, Alexander Maureau, Raquel Namuche, David Sands, Carmen Santana;

Community Board 6 (Forest Hills, Rego Park): Harris C. Bulow, Hersh Parekh, Ilya Tolmasov, Allison Weingarten, Brent G. Weitzberg, Edwin Wong;

Community Board 7 (Flushing, College Point, Whitestone, Bay Terrace, Malba, Beechhurst, Bayside, Queensboro Hill, Willets Point):  Vincent J. Gianelli, Kevin Min Kang, Belal F. Salim, Alison Tan, Harpreet Singh Wahan;

Community Board 8 (Kew Gardens Hills, Utopia, Fresh Meadows, Hillcrest, Briarwood, Jamaica Hills Jamaica Estates, Holliswood, Flushing South): Sylvia I. Hernandez, Douglas Sherman;

Community Board 9 (Richmond Hill, Woodhaven, Kew Gardens, Ozone Park): Jan Fenster, Mohamad Z. Islam, Harichandan Singh, Matthew Singh;

Community Board 10 (Ozone Park, South Ozone Park, Howard Beach, South Richmond Hill) Dip N. Sookram-Singh;

Community Board 11 (Bayside, Auburndale, Oakland Gardens, Little Neck, Douglaston, East Flushing, Hollis Hills): Mary Donahue, John Shehas, Jessica Sin;

Community Board 12 (Jamaica, South Jamaica, Hollis, St. Albans, South Ozone Park, Addesleigh Park, Springfield Gardens): Sabrina Dunn, Danny Englander, Ian Harris;

Community Board 13  (Queens Village, Glen Oaks, New Hyde Park, Bellerose, Cambria Heights, Laurelton, Rosedale, Floral Park, Springfield Gardens, Bellaire): Jonathan D. Logan, Davon Lomax, Tameka Pierre-Louis, Celeste Powers, Wilson Thomas;

Community Board 14 (The Rockaways, Rockaway Point, Breezy Point, Roxbury, Neponsit, Belle Harbor, Rockaway Park, Seaside, Broad Channel, Hammels, Sommerville, Edgemere, Arverne, Bayswater, Wavecrest, Far Rockaway, Rockaway Beach): Richard Altabe, Patricia Gillespie, Joel Kaplan, Darrell A. Mitchell, Rachel Williams.


Follow Borough President Katz via @melindakatz or www.facebook.com/queensbpkatz